Taking Back Control Through Travel

Until recently, I thought I traveled to see the sites, eat new food and meet new people. Now, I know I travel because of one main thing: control.

Sure, call me ‘type A’ or a control freak (which could be good or bad depending on your perspective) but for the days where I feel like my life is out of my hands, I feel like I lack control. I have my mantras of “I am in control” or “I am a strong and independent woman” but these only help me so much.

I believe that things do happen for a reason. I also have faith that the universe is teaching each of us lessons.

IMG_20190420_172857_edited
Hiking mountains solve a lot of problems. PS I almost smacked someone in the face with that trekking pole. Careful, friends.

However, as a twenty-something trying to make rent and pay off student loans, I feel like my options are limited to the social construct of success lies in a white picket fence and working a stable 9-to-5 job.

I genuinely miss the days in college where I felt the world was my oyster and the possibilities were endless. I felt a spark that I only get when I escape on a weekend trip or airplane to see a new place.

So my solution to deal with this lack of control is to travel. And I am ok with that.

One week, I woke up and thought “wow, I need to go on a trip.” I say ‘need’ more so than want because it felt urgent and absolutely necessary. Work was crazy, I couldn’t focus and even after a few gym sessions to increase endorphins, I lacked motivation. I needed a getaway. I needed to get on a plane and it didn’t matter where as long as the price was in my budget.

IMG_20190421_150017
My spontaneous trip to Vancouver was a success. Stanley Park had great views and driftwood. #winning

I had this thought on a Monday and started hunting for tickets. On Tuesday, the hunt continued and on Wednesday I mentioned this to a friend in Vancouver who said to come visit. So I looked at tickets, negotiated the time off work then bought tickets on Thursday. I flew out on Friday.

The short window of time didn’t give me the chance to freak out or have anxiety over what the itinerary would be, which in retrospect was a good thing. All I knew was I needed to go somewhere, hike a mountain and try some new food. Boom. I did it.

I had taken back the control. I didn’t have to be somewhere at 8:30 to sit at a desk. I got to plan what I wanted to do, when and how. I could spend as little or as much time on a hike, museum or restaurant.

Is travel a healthy coping mechanism? I try not to psychoanalyze myself too much but I am going to say hell yeah.

IMG_20190421_153419_edited
I am also addicted to hugging trees. Let it be known.

Yes, travel is healthy for my mental and physical health. I need it, I crave it. Add ‘travel addict’ to the list in addition to control freak and type A because I am here for it.  

Of all the addictions, travel is the least invasive so pick your poison (responsibly of course and no, I’m not condoning drug/alcohol abuse).

Some people drink and party all weekend but I decide to use this same money to buy airline tickets instead of double vodka sodas (with lime, obvs). And no shade because I go out and party too or drink red wine to wind down.

I’ve just realized that I need to balance these activities at home to save money or choose to go out in other countries instead, which is a great cultural experience too. Choose how you use your paycheck, another form of control.

And if travel is your escape too, save up and make those trips happen. Keep in mind spontaneous trips are sometimes the best trips.

Pick your poison. Pick your mantra. And buy that ticket.

 

 

 

Leave a comment