One Year Ago, I was in New Zealand

I didn’t think traveling to New Zealand would be possible: it was expensive, far away and people drive on the left side of the road. Obstacles I was unaware I could easily overcome but, in the moment, they felt daunting. One year ago, I was in New Zealand and I still look back on that trip as it happened last month, and I am still sifting through the bazillion photos I took.

Translation: It was a damn good trip, and everyone should book that ticket to go.

Maker:L,Date:2017-8-19,Ver:5,Lens:Kan03,Act:Kan02,E-Y
Near Port Levy Saddle, outside Christchurch.

Buying the Ticket

At the time, I had a friend living in Christchurch who encouraged me to book tickets and just go for it. I also had some other friends who said “if you got the money and time off of work, just go.” I would categorize these friends as ‘travel friends’ who always tell you to buy tickets, regardless of any justification you come up with, for better or worse.

Traveling to New Zealand had been on my travel list forever. So I used my travel funds to book that ticket. It was a magical feeling to click the ‘process payment’ button.

I am unusually reminiscent of this trip. Possibly because it is the one-year anniversary of this trip. Or possibly because I feel like there is more to explore in NZ. Or I have a case of the ‘forever’ travel bug. But really, it’s a combination of all three of these things. I feel like I am rambling on about this trip, but I learned a lot from this trip.

Maker:L,Date:2017-8-19,Ver:5,Lens:Kan03,Act:Kan02,E-Y
Checking out Lake Tekapo in New Zealand.

What I Learned

For one, I drove on the left side of the road for the first time. For an American, it was a big step for me. I had a mantra while I drove. It was ‘I am in New Zealand, stay on the left.’ Weird but it worked. It took a while to get the hang of driving on the opposite side of the road but also having the blinkers and windshield wipers on opposite sides of the steering wheel was a fun twist. *insert sarcasm here* But I did it and I encourage anyone to give it a go.

Secondly, to drive, plan and book tours solo is an experience in itself. To have complete control over what you do and where you go next is empowering yet intimidating to know you are in control of your time abroad. For example, I paid $130 NZ dollars to get seasick on a whale watch tour. Not the best scenario but I did get to see a sperm and blue whale. I then drove to Wharariki Beach for a hike and walk on the coast during low tide that ended in a mini photo shoot, no shame. So it all balanced out.

Somewhere Outside of Takaka
Checking out a viewpoint outside of Takaka next to the highway.

I also stopped numerous times on the Milford Sound highway to have photo shoots (thank goodness for a camera timer) and if I was with someone I wouldn’t have stopped so much. I blame my Midwestern roots, but I really wouldn’t have stopped if I was with someone else. Luckily, I was behind the steering wheel (literally) and got to decide when and where to stop- the beauty behind solo travel.

Milford Hwy Grassy Area 2
One of the *casual* shots from my Milford Sound photo shoot.

Travel Pushes You (Even After a Year)

Whenever I doubt my abilities, I remind myself what I did by MYSELF in a FOREIGN COUNTRY. We all have good days and bad days but sometimes you need a reminder to push through. New Zealand ended up being one of these reminders for me. What’s yours? Think about it or go ahead and buy that ticket to help you figure it out.

Leave a comment