Make New Year Resolutions Stick

Let’s talk about dry January. Let’s talk about New Year, New Me resolutions. It has been a hot topic at the beginning of every New Year and is on the top of many people’s resolutions. However, why is this such a fad?

I always feel the pressure to ‘take charge’ of my body and to begin the New Year with a clean, healthy slate. I am bogged down with ads on social media for gym memberships and diets to give me glowing skin. This pressure always gets stuck in my head (and body) and deteriorates some self-confidence I had been working on throughput the past year.

So my thought is: why can’t I do this throughout the year? Why is it at the beginning of the year there’s a huge push for something that can be done year round?

I understand that January is the beginning of a New Year and if that motivates you to change your lifestyle or eating routine, do it. But you are not restricted to only making this change in January.

00000IMG_00000_BURST20181110164826375_COVER
Getting outside more is always on my yearly to-do list.

 

Empower yourself to get mentally and physically healthy when your body tells you to (aka when you’re dehydrated, drink more water) and make it a habit that sticks. My personal experience is that I fall short of being ‘healthy’ when January passes.

That motivation or pressure I felt dissipates and I stop feeling motivated to go for a run or attend a yoga class— physical health impacts. Then the guilt sets in by not being as ‘healthy’ as society thinks I should be or regret over not being at the gym— mental health impacts.

Yes, take care of your body. Yes, take charge of your health.

I am not saying to NOT do that if starting in January works for you and your life.

To help be sure I make these health changes ‘stick,’ I have started to challenge myself to do it year round. That does not make me successful all the time. I am farrrrrr from perfect but I am aware of my body and what I am drinking and eating all the time. If it isn’t healthy, change it regardless of what month it is.

I love me some fried chicken and tacos but I know there has to be a balance with my fruits and veggies. Or when I have weeks where I am an insomniac, I know I need to plan better to shut my mind off by reading a book or going to the gym aka turning off Netflix.

I felt like a failure at times because I didn’t always reach my goals and then being an over thinker I shutdown and gave up on these goals all together. I realized these workout programs are not ‘one size fits all’ and that’s ok. Find what works best for you. Sometimes just going for a walk in my neighborhood for fresh air was more beneficial than doing nothing at all on the couch.

The hard part is to get in a good routine and stay with that routine. I found that activities I enjoy, like being outside hiking, Latin dance, hip hop or yoga classes keep me focused. I go to these classes with friends to keep me on track and it is a LOT more fun.

January is over and February is almost over too. I hope everyone who set mental and physical health goals has reached them and continues to do so.

Carpe diem that ish and make lifestyle changes spring, summer or fall and not just at the New Year.

 

Leave a comment