A year ago, I was rafting the Grand Canyon

The Grand Canyon is intimidating by itself. I don’t need to convince anyone of how amazing yet terrifying this place can be.

I never thought I was ‘rugged’ enough to raft the Grand Canyon. I realized I am. Photo credit: Mountain Mindful Photography/Cas Taylor

Now, looking at photos, it seems unreal. Each morning, our group got to wake up to the walls of the canyon and the Colorado River. We hiked on side trails and climbed up and down slot canyons to explore. We only had to worry about food for the day, breaking down and setting up camp, or figuring out how many miles to go on the raft. Also to hydrate, very important for summer time in the desert. 

Before and after almost three weeks on the Colorado River in the Grand Canyon. Casual. And also super sandy and grimy. I can weirdly smell this photo.

From ‘rugged’ to RUGGED

I don’t feel like I am super rugged, but I do like to disconnect outdoors by hiking, canoeing or just seeing a sunset. I enjoy living out of a backpack because I realize how little I need from day-to-day.

I am afraid of heights and after about 10 pep talks later, I was able to rappel down. I highly suggest working in a side hike or canyoneering in side canyons while rafting the Grand. 10 out of 10. Photo credit: Mountain Mindful Photography/Cas Taylor

When my friend Hannah, asked me if I wanted to raft the Grand, my first was ‘yes’ but after thinking about it more, my response felt like a ‘maybe.’ I started to do one of the most dangerous things out there: overthink.

Our camp sites varied from place to place, but the scenery never disappointed.

If anyone ever offers you an opportunity to go experience the Grand Canyon, the default answer should be yes. Always yes to an adventure.

In 2019, five people died in the Grand Canyon National Park. It is hard to know what to expect, let alone what to pack, when I think about how people, very sadly, did not return from their own trips out west. The key is to stay safe, wear your life vest and helmet, if you fall in the water float with your feet first, listen to your guide (if you have one), and/or follow any warnings.

I couldn’t decide what photos to use for this blog post. I keep finding more I am enamored with and can’t resist using them. How can someone say ‘no’ to this photo? Not possible. Also I get Jurassic Park vibes from this picture.

I have canoed and kayaked before on flat water and once went white water rafting with a guide. The raft used on the Grand was a oar-rigged, inflatable raft with two heavy oars versus the other white water raft had six regular paddles (think canoe paddles).

The whole trip seemed so intimidating.

Who would not want to wake up to this view each day? Ah! Note my war wound from stubbing my toe on a rock.

To raft the 280.5 miles of the Grand Canyon on the Colorado River felt like an impossible goal, but something in retrospect I should have been training for to prepare for the hot, desert summer. After research and talking to people who have done the trip, people again and again said the trip is something that would stick with you for the rest of your life. And it has so far.

The Details

Part of the adventure crew! This was on a hike and side canyoneering ‘rest’ day. So many heights and jumping into questionable dark pools of water this day.

Our Trip

Our group was on a non-commercial, self-guided trip on non-motorized oar rigs. I am biased but if you have the time, this is the way to go.

Basic group photos never hurt anyone. Photo credit: Mountain Mindful Photography/Cas Taylor

The trip’s put-in spot was Lees Ferry and we took out at Pierce Ferry Boat Ramp. We skipped the Diamond Creek option, saved money (~$1280 per person), and got more time on the water with a night float. A solid choice.

The ~70 liter dry bag we each got for personal belongings. It looks big but it fills up quick. Pack wisely!

I only knew three people on the trip before we got on the river. The other twelve people I met as we prepped our gear, but trips like rafting the Grand Canyon don’t let you be strangers for long. Before you know it, you raft, cook, sleep, bathe and eat with everyone for days and weeks at a time. Even after the trip, the group is forever connected by the experience on the river in the Grand. Not to be too Hallmark-y, but it is a unique connection to share.

Mentally

Mentally, it was tough. We had no phone connection besides a satellite phone used for emergencies. We had a large group but there just was no getting away from each other. Eventually, I had to find some solo time to reset.

A view that definitely helped keep me sane and grateful to be rafting the Grand Canyon. Heart stopping is an understatement to describe how this view makes me feel.

Even on our ‘off’ days, a climb or hike could still drain energy. I realized I had to have a full day to recharge and not do anything to be ready for the next day. Books and music helped a lot to keep morale up. Be sure to download your playlist though BEFORE heading down to the water. I basically listened to the same two playlists and 3 albums but it worked out in the end.

And yes, I had photo shoots in the canyon. Not ashamed. LIVING MY BEST LIFE IN THE WILDERNESS.

Rafting the Grand Canyon seems like yesterday but also lifetimes ago. I am still sorting through pictures and videos. With any luck, a year later you will be on an email thread exchanging inside jokes with your river crew and reminiscing.

Again, if you get the chance, just buy the ticket and go.

Leave a comment